Cinnamon Bread

Bread is something that can be hard to replace when you either have to be gluten-free, or just trying to eat less and healthier.

This is a lovely go-to recipe, that is easy for an on-the-go breakfast.  Most people rarely eat breakfast at home, and are always looking for something to grab to eat at work.  Next time I make this, I’m using some of it for a cinnamon raisin bread pudding that my friend shared with me.  (the ends of the loaf are a bit tough, so another use for them is key… I would look into bread pudding or french toast)

1 jar of almond butter ( or 2 cups ) – it really is a 16 oz jar.  Yikes.

1 1/2 cups almond flour (I substituted and did HALF almond meal, and HALF almond flour)

4 eggs

1/4 cup maple syrup

1 tsp baking soda

1 tbsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1/2 tsp sea salt

OPTIONAL- 3/4 cup raisins

Now, a food processor is probably easiest.  Mixing it with an electric beater (as it was the only thing I had.  I still would have preferred the food processor. one of these days) was fine.  Mix everything together (except the raisins).  If the dough is dry, add a little of melted coconut oil until you get a good dough consistency.  Fold in the raisins if you want to go that route.

Grease a loaf pan with some coconut oil, and scrape the dough into the pan, smoothing out the top.

Bake for 45 min-1 hour at 350 degrees.  The toothpick test works every time.  I believe it took mine just 45 minutes.  It will cook some more as it rests on a cooling rack.  pre-slice it and store in an airtight container for about a week.

 

Happy Baking!

Cinnamon Bread

Leave a comment